By Fire

My first day of work was docketed to begin Wednesday, May 15th at 12:00pm after I arrived in JFK’s domestic terminal at 7:30am. Some may say this was unwise planning, but I prefer to think of it as optimistic eagerness, which conveniently had me in town before a huge event VerbalizeIt was running on the 17th. Optimistic to think I would be fine running off of adrenaline [invincibility is a thing I hear] and eager because, well because I couldn’t stop grinning about my work with VerbalizeIt- Language, entrepreneurship, global, New York, and problem based strategic analysis. I was set to arrive in proverbial internship heaven.

Comfy couches and a ping pong table are included in internship heaven.

Comfy couches and a ping pong table are included in internship heaven.

I arrived burning. Plastered to a couch with a 100+ fever, leaving me without a chance to of getting to the office. Fast forward to 3PM on Friday the 17th when I arrived in the VerbalizeIt office for the first time.

Fast Facts:

  • VerbalizeIt was to appear on the season finale of Shark Tank, a hit ABC show that puts entrepreneurs and their pitches in front of potential investors like Marc Cuban [see how it turned out here].
  • Each episode has approximately 7 million viewers. Viewers translate to people and businesses searching VerbalizeIt, coming to the website, and interacting with the company via different media outlets.
  • The episode was filmed almost a year ago, meaning VerbalizeIt has changed and grown incredibly since the episode was filmed.

Consequently, I had to learn fast so that I could help out my supervisor, Mark, with the approaching marketing storm. I was thrown into the doing of marketing, from tweeting, to social media, to debugging web pages. Speed was of the essence, and every reply had to be on par with who the company is now. Between the viewing party happening in the office, the surrounding conversations of visiting translators, of which I passed French, Italian, Hindi, and Mandarin offshoots on one trip to the bathroom, the reporters flitting about, and the sheer quantity of new, I was on sensory overload. Or perhaps sensory satiation is a better descriptor, as the most complex moments are by far the most interesting. At arguably the most important moment of the company’s lifespan, I had the to opportunity to be here and bring a value add. I’m a huge proponent of learning as much as you can beforehand, and while I had scoured all the background materials, thats all I could have done to prepare. Coming in the first day was like running a half marathon without training– you can definitely do it, but you can’t move and you’re in awe by the end of it.

The end of day blur, somewhere around midnight.

Lend Me Your Thoughts...

