What have you been left with?

A glimpse into my graffiti collection

A glimpse into my graffiti collection

 

Today is my last day. I walked past Rasil the fruit man to say goodbye, even though I have enough fruit to last me till I leave. “You are a great to me. I can’t let you leave with nothing.” So I walked away with four perfect and free cherries. This got me thinking: what has New York left me with?

 

968848_10200106140361891_1211196410_n

 

To be left with something, is to remember it.  Consequently, I think you have to understand how you remember to see what you will be left with. Some people are triggered with sound, smell, or a scent that brings them back into the moment. When I remember, its through sensation, feeling. I’ll remember running down the street with the slick cobblestones shining in the rain, and this song playing. But more than anything, I will remember the pure elation, a giddy joy that being in the rain brings. Remembering for me is through these parts, through the montages that capture them, the flip show that explains the emotion visually.

 

What will you leave behind? I know I will miss the City

What will you leave behind? I know I will miss the City

So what am I left with? A love of walking in New York at night, because the city never sleeps, you feel the reality of a global world, you feel the fact that there is a day on the other side and half of the world is awake, full of light, and living a day just as people are sleeping here .. That feeling of completely cutting off from work, when you’ve run to the brink of exhaustion and then you just let it all go .. How lightly you laugh when you are with best friends .. The odd ear pop you get when you take the subway to Brooklyn .. When you look down an avenue, it feels like you can see into someone’s heart, or the city’s for that matter. It’s also when you get the best breeze .. That even my coworkers have gotten used to my random facts, asking me in the morning to prepare for the day .. That this makes me laugh .. That I was the too intense intern at the beginning, but only because I was an evenly contributing team member by the end .. That the one critique for my future focuses on self care, not on the question of my success .. Parts of all the pieces— a glimpse at the beginning of professional life, the start of the end of school,  and the life that fills in all the details.

 

Cross continental meetings seem to be a trend. I suppose its a glimpse into the future.

Cross continental meetings seem to be a trend. I suppose its a glimpse into the future.

Lend Me Your Thoughts...

